Why the Messi/Suarez penalty should have been disallowed

The football world is fawning over Barcelona’s superb 6-1 demolition of Celta Vigo, but the cheekiest goal of the lot involving Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez shouldn’t have counted.

When Barca were awarded a penalty, Messi stepped up and rolled the ball a couple of yards to the side for Suarez to run in and fire the ball past the goalkeeper.


However, one eagle eyed person on Twitter has pointed out that Suarez was inside the ‘D’ which, according to the laws of the game, is an infringement and it was missed by the referee as well as his assistant.

A quick read of Law 14 – The Penalty Kick backs up the claim, and you can see the same offence committed by Suarez on page 15.

But hey, who cares? It was great to see the trick pulled off, unlike when Robert Pires and Thierry Henry tried it in the Premier League a decade ago!


The Author

Up Front

Back Page Football's little brother, delving into the ugly, beautiful and bizarre sides of football with news, videos and pictures from around the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *