The race for the Premier League Golden Boot

After Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane were made to share the award last season, along with Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, the battle for the Golden Boot award could well be just as competitive during the upcoming Premier League campaign.

With champions Manchester City and Liverpool being backed to once again battle it out for the title, it could well be that the usual suspects also make the strongest plays for the leading goalscorer award.

Embed from Getty Images

Last year’s golden boot odds had Harry Kane as the favourite for the Golden Boot award, however injuries meant that that England skipper was able to find the back of the net in the top-flight just 17 times.

However, with Spurs hoping to build upon their Champions League final appearance at the end of last season, the 25-year-old could well be in with a good chance of claiming the award for the third time with help from new comers like Giovani Lo Celso.

Meanwhile, despite finishing on 22 Premier League goals last season, Salah had his issues last year, although the Egyptian is likely to be a leading candidate once more, having now scored an impressive 54 Premier League goals following his return to England from Roma back in 2017.

As a result, the Liverpool man is the favourite with a number of leading bookmakers, with many offering appealing odds of 5/1.

Elsewhere, having finished just one goal behind last season’s winners, Sergio Aguero is likely to once again find himself in the mix, with the Argentina being widely regarded as one of the Premier League’s best foreign imports.

The 31-year-old is set to lead the line for Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City, with the likes of Bernardo Silva and Kevin de Bruyne regularly providing goalscoring opportunities for the former Atletico Madrid man.

Those looking to back Aguero for the Golden Boot Award can register and bet at some of the more finest brands out there.

The likes of Marcus Rashford, Jamie Vardy, Raul Jiminez, Callum Wilson and new Everton striker Moise Kean are among the outsiders for the award at present, with the quartet set to feature heavily for their respective clubs throughout the 19//20 Premier League campaign.

Embed from Getty Images

Harry Kane is the only English player to have collected the Golden Boot since Kevin Phillips in 2000, with Raheem Sterling being another option for those looking to back one of Gareth Southgate’s prized assets this time around.

The Manchester City man finished with a career-best 17 goals, along with 10 assists.

The new Premier League season got underway when European champions Liverpool hosted newcomers Norwich City at Anfield where the likes of Salah started with a bang.

Elsewhere on the opening weekend, Aguero continued his fine run of form in front of goal against West Ham, Kane scored twice for Spurs at home against Aston Villa and Aubameyang capped a successful gameweek for these heavy hitters with the winner against Newcastle.

The opening weeks of the campaign could go a long way to determining who eventually claims the golden boot award, with a large number of bets expected to be placed on this market, both before and during the season.

The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *