Schoolboy Draxler makes provisional German squad

Schalke’s Julian Draxler was the biggest surprise inclusion when Germany’s provisional Euro 2012 squad was announced on Monday (May 7th).

As the 18-year-old told Bild, he himself missed manager Joachim Loew’s phonecall, which came in the middle of a school history lesson!

The nomination came, for me, quite unexpectedly. When I listened to my voicemail this morning, during the school break, I had a message from Joachim Loew.

The babyfaced midfielder stands as the only un-capped outfield player in the 27-man group, that will now travel to Germany’s Sardinian training camp to prepare for the upcoming tournament in Poland and the Ukraine. This provisional twenty-seven will be reduced to an official 23-man squad on or before May 29th.

Draxler, who would still be eligible to play for Germany’s U-19s this summer, is one of a posse of twelve midfielders chosen by Loew. It seems likely that this number will be significantly reduced, come the deadline. Indeed Germany took eight out-and-out midfielders to the previous European Championships and only six to the last World Cup.

Despite these numbers, perhaps, being against young Draxler, the future looks bright for the Gladbeck native, as Joachim Loew attested after announcing his selection in Rastatt.

Julian Draxler has a lot of potential, he is very young and very quick in one-on-one situations…and very intelligent.

He still does not quite have the consistency, also because he has other things to deal with, such as attending school, and he is still young and could play for the Under-19s, but we think he has a great deal of potential.

The provisional German Euro 2012 squad, in full, is as follows:

[GK] Manuer Neuer (Bayern Munich), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen), Ron Robert Zieler (Hannover), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Borussia Moenchengladbach).

[DF] Holger Badstuber, Jerome Boateng, Philipp Lahm (all Bayern Munich), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels, Marcel Schmelzer (both Borussia Dortmund), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal).

[MF] Sven Bender, Mario Gotze, Ilkay Gundogan (all Borussia Dortmund), Lars Bender, Andre Schurrle (both Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Schalke), Toni Kroos, Thomas Muller, Bastian Schweinsteiger (all Bayern Munich), Sami Khedira, Mesut Ozil (both Real Madrid), Marco Reus (Borussia Monchengladbach).

[FW] Lukas Podolski (Cologne), Cacau (Stuttgart), Mario Gomez (Bayern Munich), Miroslav Klose (Lazio).

The Author

Dave Wood

Dave takes a particular interest in footballing topics including Kosovan independence, Mid-90s Premiership cult heroes and the Non-League game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *