The BPF Premier League Team of the Year

The Back Page Football editorial team have put their heads together and come up with their Premier League Team of the Year.

Given that this is just a hypothetical team that will never play together, the formation chosen and chemistry between the players counts for next to nothing so this simply a best eleven for the 2015/16 campaign.

Let us know what you think in the comments section at the bottom.


David de Gea (Manchester United)

Manchester United’s Player of the Year could have been playing his football in La Liga this season were it not for the last-minute breakdown of a proposed move to Real Madrid.

The Spanish shot stopper didn’t let that uncertainty impact his performances, and he signed a new four-year deal with United before maintaining the high standards he had set in previous seasons.

Still only 25, De Gea has now made the Premier League PFA Team of the Season three times, and could be first choice at Old Trafford for the next decade at least.

Wes Morgan (Leicester City)

The man who skippered Leicester City to their Premier League title success cut his teeth with Nottingham Forest in the second and third tiers of English football for the best part of a decade.

In 2012, he made the move to the King Power stadium and was instrumental in their 2014 promotion to the top flight, before playing 37 of 38 league games last season.

This time round, the 32-year-old Jamaican international was an ever-present at the heart of the defence having formed a solid partnership with Robert Huth.

Robert Huth (Leicester City)

Unwanted by Stoke City, Robert Huth spent the second half of last season on loan at Leicester City before making the move a permanent one for a fee believed to be in the region of £3 million.

Alongside Wes Morgan, Huth was a colossus for Claudio Ranieri’s Leicester City side which conceded less than a goal a game (36 in 38 games).

A Premier League title winner with Chelsea back in 2005 and 2006, Leicester’s unlikely triumph saw Huth become just the seventh person to achieve the honour with two different club.


Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur)

Despite Tottenham Hotspurs’ underwhelming finish to the Premier League season, there are plenty of positives for supporters to take, not least the centre half partnership of Belgian internationals Toby Alderweireld and Jan Vertonghen.

The 27-year-old spent the 2014/15 campaign on loan with Southampton for Atletico Madrid before joining Spurs on a permanent basis last July for a fee of around £11.5 million.

Alderweireld played in each of Spurs’ 38 Premier League games, managing to find the net four times, and he picked up the club’s Player of the Year award to go alongside a spot in the PFA Team of the Year.

Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)

With 17 goals and 11 assists to his name, Riyad Mahrez dominated the Premier League this season and his individual performances saw him collect the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

Mahrez was playing in France’s Ligue 2 with Le Havre prior to joining Leicester City on a three-and-a-half year deal for a fee of just £400,000 in January 2014.

The first Algerian to claim a Premier League winners medal, Mahrez has represented his country 24 times to date and was a member of the 2014 World Cup squad.

N’Golo Kante (Leicester City)

Arguably the signing of the season, the diminutive N’Golo Kante has been a revelation for Leicester City since joining from Ligue 1 side Caen last summer.

His impressive engine and tough tackling have made him one the league’s top midfielders and he is another Leicester player that made it into the PFA Team of the Year.

The 25-year-old is now the subject of heavy rumours linking him with a switch to Arsenal, while his performances have resulted in a call up to the France squad for this summer’s European Championship.


Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)

Another Premier League new boy who delivered this season is Dimitri Payet with an impressive 9 goals and 12 assists to his name, despite missing a couple of months through injury.

Payet’s ability from a deadball left fans drooling, and his free kick against Manchester United at Old Trafford in the FA Cup is up there with the very best strikes in recent years.

West Ham have become a very exciting side to watch under Slaven Bilic and Payet, who made the Premier League PFA Team of the Year, is in integral part of the set up.

Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)

The undoubted Young Player of the Year, Dele Alli has begun to justify the initial fee of £5 million that Tottenham Hotspur paid to prize him from MK Dons at the start of 2015.

Alli scored 10 games in his 33 league appearances before suspension, for punching West Bromwich Albion’s Claudio Yacob, brought an early end to his season.

A stunning strike against Crystal Palace made even more people sit up and take note of his abilities, and Roy Hodgson has rewarded the 20-year-old with six full England caps to date.

Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Jamie Vardy’s well documented rise from non-league obscurity to top flight stardom was complete when Leicester City claimed the Premier League title.

The 29-year-old finished joint second in the Golden Boot with 24 goals, and has established himself as a member of the England squad ahead of Euro 2016.

The Football Writers Player of the Year also scored on the season’s most memorable strikes when he hammered home a volley against Liverpool at the King Power Stadium.


Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

Despite all his achievements in the Premier League, there is still an element of “what if?” surrounding Sergio Aguero when it comes to his injury record.

The Argentine managed 30 games this time round and scored 24 times, including a five-goal haul against Newcastle United back in October.

Aguero’s minutes per goal ratio of 99 is better than any of the Premier League’s top 25 goalscorers for the 2015/16 campaign, and he now has 102 league goals in his five seasons with City.

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Unfairly labelled a “one season wonder”, Harry Kane went 748 minutes without a goal before netting against Manchester City at the end of September.

Kane enjoyed a couple of hot streaks with seven goals in four games in October/November and nine in eight towards the end of the campaign.

With 25 goals in total, Kane held off Jamie Vardy and Sergio Aguero to become the first English winner of the Premier League Golden Boot since Kevin Phillips in 2000.

Author Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *