Unbeaten Adelaide hit top spot

Adelaide United moved to the top of the Hyundai A-League with a 3-2 win over North Queensland Fury on Saturday. Fury took an early lead through Isaka Cernak, but were pegged back thanks to a stunning strike from Marcos Flores whose neat touch and volley will surely be a contender for Goal of the Season. An own goal by defender Brett Studman and a header from Daniel Mullen stretched Adelaide’s lead and although David Williams’ late strike set up a grandstand finish, the South Australians held out to sit on eight points from their first four games.

Central Coast debutant Patricio Perez was the hero for his new club, coming off the bench to earn and score a penalty which earned his side a point against Sydney FC in a 1-1 draw. Hosts Sydney had taken the lead shortly after half time when 18 year old Mariners keeper Matthew Ryan fumbled Sung-Hwan Byun’s cross and Rhyan Grant was on hand to score. Perez’s equaliser was a huge talking point with Sydney keeper Liam Reddy seeing red for the challenge that resulted in the awarding of the spot kick. Perez later had a header incorrectly ruled out for offside, though defeat would have been harsh on Sydney.

A controversial injury time penalty converted by Robbie Fowler gave Perth Glory a share of the spoils in their clash with Melbourne Heart at AAMI Park. There looked to be little contact between Glory substitute Michael Baird and Heart defender Kliment Taseski in the area as the game headed into injury time but referee Kurt Ams pointed to the spot and Fowler sent Clint Bolton the wrong way from twelve yards. Melbourne twice led in the game through Gerald Sibon and Nick Kalmar but are still left searching for their first A-League win. Glory meanwhile stay joint top of the ladder.

Melbourne Victory claimed an excellent 1-0 win over Gold Coast United thanks to a strike from returning striker Robbie Kruse. He linked up well with last season’s Player of the Year Carlos Hernandez in the 20th minute to give Victory a much needed boost after an indifferent start to the season. United will be disappointed with their efforts and are winless from their three games so far.

Brisbane Roar join Perth and Adelaide as the three remaining unbeaten sides thank to a single goal win over Wellington Phoenix. Kosta Barbarouses was the hero at Suncorp Stadium, scoring against his former club. Both sides squandered chances before Barbarouses fired home in the 73rd minute.

Round 5 –

Friday, 3 September 2010

Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory

Saturday, 4 September 2010

Melbourne Heart v North Queensland Fury

Sydney FC v Adelaide United

Sunday, 5 September 2010

Newcastle Jets v Brisbane Roar

Perth Glory v Wellington Phoenix

Gold Coast United BYE

Author Details

Neil Sherwin
Neil Sherwin

Co-editor of BackPageFootball.com. Writes mostly on Premier League and A-League with contributions to other sites including TheFootballSack, InBedWithMaradona and Bloomberg's BSports. Has featured on The Guardian's Football Weekly.

Leave a Reply