Pat’s given helping hand for late winner against Drogs

In one of the most bizarre refereeing decisions for a long time, a St. Patrick’s Athletic player won his side a penalty by handling the ball in the opposition’s box.

With the scores locked at a goal apiece in injury time against Drogheda United yesterday, a cross into the area landed at the feet of Christy Fagan. The ball popped up and struck the striker’s hand, however, rather than giving a free out, referee Tom Connolly pointed to the spot, giving Killian Brennan the chance to nick all three points for his side.

Check out the video of the incident below:

Author Details

2 thoughts on “Pat’s given helping hand for late winner against Drogs

  1. absolutely shocking refereeing. Everyone else in the ground saw it was a handball and free out. Standard of refereeing in Ireland needs to be examined, I mean there’s mistakes and then there’s this!

Leave a Reply