Football League Fan of the Year

The Football League, in association with EA Sports, has begun its search for the Fan of the Year, with the winner to be announced at a gala dinner at the league’s annual awards ceremony.

Voting in the awards, run in conjunction with FourFourTwo magazine, closes on January 20, 2010, and the winners will be announced at a gala dinner on March 14, 2010,

The Football League’s Commercial Director, Stewart Thomson said: “The Football League Awards has become an important fixture on The Football League calendar.

“Once again, this year’s ceremony will present us with an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contributions made to The Football League by fans, players, clubs and sponsors alike.

“The Football League relies on the support of dedicated fans, and the awards are a fantastic way for us to identify and reward such loyalty, and hard work behind the scenes.

“I would encourage fans to put forward any individuals they believe should be in contention for the award, and give them a chance to receive the recognition they deserve.”

Nominations for the EA SPORTS Fan of the Year should be sent to, and should include;

– Name of the nominee

– Club supported

– Photo of the nominee (if you have one)

– Any other background information about the nominee (age, years as a fan etc)

– Detailed reason as to why you think your nominee should win the award

– Your name, contact details and relationship to the nominee

Last year’s winner was Ipswich Town fan, Warner Duff who has worked as a volunteer with the club for the last eight years.

He provides the first line liaison between supporters with disabilities and the Club’s ticket office and works with the National Association of Disabled Supporters (NADS) by helping the Club to formulate its policies regarding supporters and disabilities.

He plays a vital role in the adoption of new procedures and facilities and has recently been the driving force behind the RNIB’s Soccer Sight project, providing specialist matchday commentary for supporters with visual impairment.

This will the fifth year of the awards and there will be 20 categories overall.

Author Details

Neil Sherwin
Neil Sherwin

Co-editor of Writes mostly on Premier League and A-League with contributions to other sites including TheFootballSack, InBedWithMaradona and Bloomberg's BSports. Has featured on The Guardian's Football Weekly.

One thought on “Football League Fan of the Year

  1. The Pittsburgh Steelers and Baltimore Ravens staged another classic in what’s fast becoming one of the NFL’s best rivalries. The Ravens narrowly prevailed in a physical 20-17 overtime victory over the Steelers in a big game for both teams. when a new NFL season is bound to begin, you will notice that these replica jerseys get sold like hotdogs at various local sports apparel shops. More and more people are trying to get their hands on some NFL replica football jerseys. If you are one among those hardcore football fans you may find yourself in great difficulty when trying to buy NFL replica football jerseys at a nearby sports shop. Either you find ill-fitting sizes for you or you don’t find any replicas at all because they are already sold out.

Leave a Reply