England World Cup Squad Announced

This afternoon, in front of the assembled press at a Vauxhall factory outside of Luton, England national team manager Roy Hodgson announced the 23 players (Plus seven on stand-by) that will carry the nation’s hopes this summer.

Speculation has reached fever pitch in recent days, with left-back Ashley Cole, a veteran of three World Cups, confirmed via Twitter that he would not be part of this summer’s tournament increasing speculation that Southampton’s 18-year old Luke Shaw would be favoured. Frank Lampard is a surprise inclusion, with most predicting he would miss out in favour of a more youthful compatriot.

Elsewhere Everton’s Ross Barkley has been rewarded for his form with a spot, however Manchester United midfield duo Michael Carrick and Tom Cleverley have had their torrid season’s topped-off by missing out. Upfront striker Rickie Lambert has been favoured ahead of West Ham’s Andy Carroll.

Full Squad:


Joe Hart (Manchester City) Ben Foster (West Brom) Fraser Forster (Celtic)


Gary Cahill (Chelsea) Phil Jagielka (Everton) Leighton Baines (Everton) Glen Johnson (Liverpool)

Phil Jones (Manchester United) Chris Smalling (Manchester United) Luke Shaw (Southampton)


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool) Jordan Henderson (Liverpool) Frank Lampard (Chelsea) Jack Wilshire (Arsenal)

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal) Adam Lallana (Southampton) Raheem Sterling (Liverpool) James Milner (Manchester City) Ross Barkley (Everton)


Wayne Rooney (Manchester United) Danny Welbeck (Manchester United) Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool) Rickie Lambert (Southampton)


Andy Carroll (West Ham) John Stones (Everton) John Ruddy (Norwich) Jermain Defoe (Toronto) Michael Carrick (Manchester United) Tom Cleverley (Manchester Utd) Jon Flanagan (Liverpool)

Author Details

Charles Pulling
Charles Pulling

Co-Editor of @bpfootball. Content for ViceUK, inbedwimaradona, sabotagetimes + Others. Featured on http://WorldSoccer.com

Leave a Reply